One of the central purposes of the Memory Studies Association is to facilitate exchange between everyone interested in the field. With this in mind, we list here Centers, Institutes and Networks engaged in the study of memory – as well as other useful online resources. Please inform us of any websites you would like us to add here: msacenters@memorystudiesassociation.org

We are honoured to have Jenny Wüstenberg as the network chair.

Name of the research centre: Main hosting institution: Website: Contact email: Name of the director/contact person:
AHRDO (Afghanistan Human Rights and Democracy Organisation) https://afghanistanmemoryhome.org/ sbijleveld@ahrdo.org Sophia Milosevic Bijleveld
ALTER The University of Pau and Pays de l’Adour https://alter.univ-pau.fr/fr/index.html s.tobia@univ-pau.fr Simona Tobia
Amsterdam School for Heritage, Memory and Material Culture University of Amsterdam https://ahm.uva.nl/ I.A.M.Saloul@uva.nl Ihab Saloul
Asociación Memorias en Red Independent http://www.memoriasenred.es memoriasenred.giji@gmail.com
Athens State University Archive Athens State University https://www.athens.edu/resources/library/archives/ amber.skantz@athens.edu Toni Carter
CASILAC (UCC, Ireland) University College Cork http://casilac.ie/ c.levey@ucc.ie Cara Levey
CELAT Laval University (Quebec-Canada) https://celat.ca/ulaval/ direction@celat.ulaval.ca Jean-Francois Gauvin
Center for Comparative Conflict Studies (CFCCS) Faculty of Media and Communications (FMK), Belgrade, Serbia http://cfccs.org/;info@cfccs.org“>http://cfccs.org/;info@cfccs.org orli.fridman@fmk.edu.rs Orli Fridman
Center for Comparative Research on Memory Cultures SWPS University, Warsaw, Poland SWPS University https://english.swps.pl/science-and-research/discover-our-potential/research-centers/954-faculties-and-departments/faculty-of-arts-and-social-sciences-in-warsaw/departments/32769-department-of-cultural-and-media-studies kbojarska1@swps.edu.pl Katarzyna Bojarska
Center for Excellence in Image Studies, Bucharest University University of Bucharest https://cesi.ro/ office@cesi.unibuc.ro Sorin Alexandrescu, Laura Mesina, Ileana Marin
Center for Historical Research, Federal University Dutsin-Ma, Nigeria Federal University Dutsinma https://fudutsinma.edu.ng/ okanschibue@yahoo.com
Center for Research on Social Memory University of Warsaw (Faculty of Sociology) https://crsm.uw.edu.pl wawrzyniakj@is.uw.edu.pl Joanna Wawrzyniak
Center for the Study of History and Memory University of Indiana, Bloomington http://www.indiana.edu/~cshm/index.html bodnar@indiana.edu John Bodnar
Center for the Study of the American South University of South Carolina http://south.unc.edu csas@unc.edu Blair L.M. Kelley
Centre for Arts, Memory and Communities Coventry University https://www.coventry.ac.uk/research/areas-of-research/centre-for-arts-memory-and-communities/ ac7390@coventry.ac.uk Elizabeth Benjamin
Centre for Comparative Studies University of Lisbon https://cecomp.letras.ulisboa.pt/ lsoares@letras.ulisboa.pt Hélio Alves, Luísa Afonso Soares
Centre for Heritage Newcastle University https://www.ncl.ac.uk/heritage/ CentreforHeritage@newcastle.ac.uk Catherine Gilbert, Susannah Eckersley, Joanne Sayner, Katie Markham, Loes Veldpaus, John Pendlebury
Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies The Australian National University https://chms.cass.anu.edu.au/ laurajane.smith@anu.edu.au Laurajane Smith
Centre for Memory Studies and Post-Conflict Cultures University of Nottingham https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/research/groups/csp-cs/index.aspx ute.hirsekorn@nottingham.ac.uk; rui.miranda@nottingham.ac.uk Dr Ute Hirsekorn; Dr Rui Miranda
Centre for Memory, Narrative and Histories University of Brighton http://arts.brighton.ac.uk/research/centre-for-research-in-memory-narrative-and-histories Memorynarrativehistories@brighton.ac.uk Ken Young
Memory Studies at NTU Nottingham Trent University https://www.ntu.ac.uk/research/groups-and-centres/centres/centre-for-public-history,-heritage-and-memory2 jenny.wustenberg@ntu.ac.uk; chris.reynolds@ntu.ac.uk Jenny Wüstenberg and Chris Reynolds
Centre for Studies in Memory and Literature University of Iceland http://memory.hi.is/ gunnth@hi.is Gunnthorunn Gudmundsdottir
Centre for the Study of Cultural Memory University of London https://ilcs.sas.ac.uk/research-centres/centre-study-cultural-memory-ccm joseph.ford@sas.ac.uk Joseph Ford
Centre for the Study of the Afterlife of Violence and the Reparative Quest (AVReQ), Stellenbosch University, South Africa https://avreq.sun.ac.za/ pumlagm1@gmail.com;pumlagm@sun.ac.za Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela
Centre of Transdoisciplinary Research Culture, Space and Memory Faculty of Arts of the University of Porto https://citcem.org/en/ citcem@letras.up.pt Inês Amorim
Collected Visions http://cvisions.cat.nyu.edu/mantle/info.html cvisions@cat.nyu.edu
Comisión Provincial por la Memoria de la Provincia de Buenos Aires http://www.comisionporlamemoria.org/ secretaria@comisionporlamemoria.org
Commemorative Culture Universitat Regensburg https://zentrum-erinnerungskultur.de/en/ Juliane.Tomann@geschichte.uni-regensburg.de Julianne Tomann
Communication and Society Research Centre University of Minho https://www.cecs.uminho.pt cecs@ics.uminho.pt Madalena Oliveira
Connecting Memories Research Initiative The University of Edinburgh www.connectingmemories.org / info@connectingmemories.org Paul Leworthy
Contemporary Memory Politics in Spain in Comparative Perspective Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) http://www.politicasdelamemoria.org/en/ paco.ferrandiz@cchs.csic.es Francisco Ferrándiz
CROME: Crossed Memories, Politics of Silence. The Colonial-Liberation War in Postcolonial Times Centre for Social Studies of the University of Coimbra https://crome.ces.uc.pt/ crome@ces.uc.pt Miguel Cardina
Cultural Identity and Memory Studies Research Group University of St. Andrews https://cims.wp.st-andrews.ac.uk cims@st-andrews.ac.uk Catherine O’Leary
Cultural Memory Studies Initiative Ghent Univesity www.cmsi.ugent.be stef.craps@ugent.be; Guido.Bartolini@Ugent.be Stef Craps; Guido Bartolini
Cultures of Memory Research Group Newcastle University https://research.ncl.ac.uk/culturesofmemory susannah.eckersley@newcastle.ac.uk Co-convenors: Joanne Sayner, Areti Galani, Catherine Gilbert, Alison Atkinson-Phillips, Susannah Eckersley
Department of Cultural Geography and QualNotes AB https://www.su.se/department-of-human-geography/ danielle.drozdzewski@humangeo.su.se Danielle Drozdzewski
Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati https://www.iitg.ac.in/hss/ hssoff @ iitg.ac.in
Digital Memories University of Leuven http://www.digitalmemories.be// silvana.mandolessi@kuleuven.be Silvana Mandolessi
El Espacio Memoria y Derechos Humanos (Ex-ESMA) http://www.espaciomemoria.ar/ info@espaciomemoria.ar< /span>
Eurac Research Eurac Research www.eurac.edu hannes.obermair@eurac.edu Stephan Ortner
EuroClio – European Association of History Educators Contested Histories https://euroclio.eu/ paula@euroclio.eu ; secretariat@euroclio.eu ; contestedhistories@euroclio.eu Steven Stegers and Paula O’Donohoe
European University Institute https://www.eui.eu/en/home bruna.goncalves@eui.eu
Faculty of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of São Paulo – Research group Sites of Memory and Conscience https://www.coletivopisa.com/ rebecalopes@usp.br
Frankfurt Memory Studies Platform Goethe University http://www.memorystudies-frankfurt.com/about/ erll@em.uni-frankfurt.de Astrid Erll
Genealogies of Memory European Network Remembrance and Solidarity http://genealogies.enrs.eu genealogies@enrs.eu Jagna Jaworowska
Germanistische Sprachdidaktik Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany http://staff.germanistik.rub.de/fachdidaktik/ germanistik@rub.de
Govt Victoria College, Palakkad hameedadhila98@gmail.com
HISTORICAL DIALOGUES, JUSTICE, AND MEMORY NETWORK Columbia University http://historicaldialogues.org/ dialogues@columbia.edu. Nanci Adler
Holocaust Research Institute London University, Royal Holloway https://pure.royalholloway.ac.uk/portal/en/organisations/holocaust-research-centre%281fbd5b1b-effc-43e3-aa41-afab77a3408a%29.html D.Stone@rhul.ac.uk Dan Stone
Holocaust Studies Haifa University http://holocaust-studies3.haifa.ac.il// lead@post.bgu.ac.il Lea David
Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies University of Illinois, Champagne-Urbana https://jewishculture.illinois.edu/academics/initiative-holocaust-genocide-and-memory-studies bakaplan@illinois.edu Brett Kaplan
House of European History Brussels https://historia-europa.ep.eu/en/welcome-house-european-history joanna.urbanek@ext.europarl.europa.eu Joanna Urbanek
IC-MEMO (International Committee of Memorial Museums) https://icmemo.mini.icom.museum/ secretariat@icom.museum Jane Klinger
IHTP Institut d’Histoire du Temps Présent CNRS / Paris Saint Denis University (France) http://www.ihtp.cnrs.fr pascal.maytraud@ihtp.cnrs.fr Pascal Maytraud
IMS Memory Linnaeus University https://lnu.se/en/research/research-groups/mediating-cultural-memory/ dagmar.brunow@lnu.se Dagmar Brunow
Industrial Heritage and Archaeology Michigan Technological University https://www.mtu.edu/social-sciences/graduate/programs/industrial-heritage-archaeology/ marhodes@mtu.edu
Institute for Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies University of Massachusetts, Amherst https://www.umass.edu/ihgms/ ihgms@acad.umass.edu David Mednicoff
Institute for the Public Understanding of the Past IPUP University of York https://www.york.ac.uk/ipup/ geoff.cubitt@york.ac.uk ; victoria.hoyle@york.ac.uk Victoria Hoyle
Institute of Culture and Memory Studies Research Centre of the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts http://ikss.zrc-sazu.si/en#v tanja.petrovic@zrc-sazu.si Tanja Petrović
Institute of Transgenerational Transmission of Trauma Research Sigmund Freud University https://ptw.sfu.ac.at/en/faculty/institutes/transgenerational-trauma-transfer-research/ erzsebet.toth@sfu.ac.at Dr Erzsebet Fanni Toth
iASK The Institute of Advanced Studies Kőszeg University of Pannonia https://iask.hu/en/ izabella.agardi@iask.hu; menyhertanna@gmail.com
International Catalan Institute for Peace – ICIP https://www.icip.cat/en/ splana@icip.cat Sílvia Plana Subirana
Irish Memory Studies Network Dublin University http://irishmemorystudies.com/ emilie.pine@ucd.ie Emilie Pine
ISP CNRS/Paris Nanterre University / ENS Paris Saclay (France) http://www.isp.cnrs.fr sgensburger@yahoo.fr Sarah Gensburger
King’s College Memory Group King’s College https://kclmemorygroup.wordpress.com/
Konstanz Geschichte und Gedachtnis University of Konstanz https://cms.uni-konstanz.de/geschichteundgedaechtnis/geschichte-und-gedaechtnis-startseite/ Aleida.Assmann@uni-konstanz.de Aleida Assmann
Labex Past in Present Paris Nanterre University (France) http://passes-present.eu gglasson-des@u-paris10.fr Ghislaine Glasson Deschaumes
Laboratório de Estudos sobre os Usos Políticos do Passado (Luppa) Universidade Federal do rio Grande do Sul https://www.ufrgs.br/luppa/ luppa@ufrgs.br Fernando Nicolazzi
Laboratory of International Memory Studies (LIMES) Maria Curie-Skłodowska University gueorgui.kassianov@mail.umcs.pl Georgiy Kasianov
Landless Voices University of Nottingham http://www.landless-voices.org/about.php?ng=e vozes-sem-terra@qmul.ac.uk
LAPCOS Université Côte d’Azur https://lapcos.univ-cotedazur.fr Frederic.VINOT@univ-cotedazur.fr
LIMS – Interdepartmental Laboratory Memory and Society University of Trento – Department of Humanities https://lims.unitn.it/ laboratorio.lims@unitn.it;giorgia.proietti@unitn.it Giorgia Proietti
Lisbon Center for Comparative Studies University of Lisbon https://cecomp.letras.ulisboa.pt/home.php prinzleve@gmail.com; leosrosas@gmail.com; cecomp@letras.ulisboa.pt
Luce Program in Individual and Collective Memory Washington University https://pages.wustl.edu/pboyer/luce-program-individual-collective-memory pboyer@wustl.edu Pascal Boyer
Lund Memory Studies Lund University https://lundmemorystudies.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/lund-memory-studies/ Barbara.Tornquist-Plewa@slav.lu.se Barbara Törnquist-Plewa
Media, Memory and History Research Cluster Loughborough University http://www.lboro.ac.uk/research/crcc/research-themes/memoryhistory/ / E.Keightley@lboro.ac.uk Emily Keightley
Memory at War. Cultural Dynamics in Poland, Russia and Ukraine Cambridge University http://www.memoryatwar.org/ info@memoryatwar.org
Memory in North Africa l.hamdoune@uiz.ac.ma
Memory Studies The New School for Social Research http://www.newschool.edu/nssr/centers-special-programs/?id=104451 bachj@newschool.edu Jonathan Bach
Memory Studies Portal Columbia University http://www.humanrightscolumbia.org/memory-studies/memory-studies-portal / memorystudiesportal@columbia.edu
Memory Studies Research Network, IIT Madras Indian Institute of Technology, Madras https://www.memorystudiesiitmadras.com avishekparui@iitm.ac.in Merin Simi Raj and Avishek Parui
Memory, Trauma, Heritage and Identity Research Group University of Jewish Studies, Budapest menyhertanna@gmail.com
Mnemonics: Network for Memory Studies Universiteit Gent http://www.mnemonics.ugent.be/ Stef.Craps@UGent.be Stef Craps
Narrative and Memory: Ethics, Aesthetics, Politics Nordic Summer University https://narrativeandmemory.com// eneken.laanes@tlu.ee Eneken Laanes and Hanna Meretoja
Núcleo de Estudios sobre Memoria / IDES / CONICET Instituto de Desarrollo Económico y Social (IDES)/Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (Argentina) https://programas.ides.org.ar/memoria mscatoggio@gmail.com; d.salerno@uu.nl Soledad Catoggio, Daniele Salerno
Oral History Society University of London, Holloway http://www.ohs.org.uk/about/ annecgulland@yahoo.co.uk Anne Gulland
Peace and Conflict Resolution (PCR Foundation) pcrfound@gmail.com Samuel Mulumeoderhwa Muderhwa
International Research Network-Contemporary Memory Theatre in Spain University of Turin veronica.orazi@unito.it Veronica Orazi
Research Area Functionality of History in Late Modernity, German Historical Institute Warsaw German Historical Institute Warsaw https://www.dhi.waw.pl/en/ saryusz-wolska@dhi.waw.pl Magdalena Saryusz-Wolska
Research Center for Memory Cultures Jagiellonian University in Krakow kulturypamieci@uj.edu.pl; aleksandra.szczepan@gmail.com Aleksandra Szczepan
Research Centre for Memory Studies Institute of International Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences, Charles University https://ims.fsv.cuni.cz/en/research/research-centres/memory-studies kralova@fsv.cuni.cz; rose.smith@fsv.cuni.cz Dr Kateřina Králová and Rose Smith
Research group for memory studies, Institute of Contemporary History, CAS, Prague Czech Academy of Sciences www.usd.cas.cz/en/research-units/research-group-of-memory-studies
www.pametnimista.usd.cas.cz
tuma@usd.cas.cz Odlřich Tůma and Markéta Devátá
Research Unit for memory studies and uses of the past romhlh@cc.au.dk
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media George Mason University https://rrchnm.org/our-story/contact-us/ chnm@gmu.edu
SELMA: Centre for the Study of Storytelling, Experientiality and Memory University of Turku, Finland https://selmacentre.wordpress.com/ hanna.meretoja@utu.fi Hanna Meretoja
Space and Place Research Hub n.milic@lcc.arts.ac.uk Nela Milic
TAPAS/Thinking about the Past Ghent Univesity http://www.tapas.ugent.be/ berber.bevernage@ugent.be Tessa Boeykens
Telemme Aix Marseille University http://telemme.mmsh.univ-aix.fr marylinecrivello@gmail.com Maryline Crivello
The (Post)Soviet Memory Studies Center Institute of International Relations and Political Science, Vilnius University http://www.memory.tspmi.vu.lt/#/ jogile.ulinskaite@tspmi.vu.lt Jogilė Ulinskaitė
The Association for the Study of Sociology of Memory and Culture BEKS Mimar Sinan University of Fine Arts, Sociology Department (Turkey) https://beks.org/biz-kimiz/ deryafirat@hotmail.com Derya Fırat
The Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at the University of Minnesota University of Minnesota https://cla.umn.edu/chgs egger207@umn.edu Joe Eggers
The Center for the Study of War and Memory University of South Alabama http://www.southalabama.edu/departments/research/warandmemory/ smccread@southalabama.edu Steven Trout
The Frankfurt Memory Studies Platform Goethe University Frankfurt (Germany) https://www.memorystudies-frankfurt.com/ erll@em.uni-frankfurt.de Prof. Dr. Astrid Erll, Dr. Hanna Teichler
The Funambulist shivangi.mariam.raj@thefunambulist.net Shivangi Mariam Raj
The George and Irina Schaeffer Center for the Study of Genocide, Human Rights and Conflict Prevention The American University of Paris https://www.aup.edu/academics/research-centers/center-for-study-genocide-human-rights-conflict-prevention schaeffercenter@aup.edu Brian Schiff
The History and Memory research hub The University of Melbourne (Australia) http://arts.unimelb.edu.au/shaps/research/groups/history k.darian-smith@unimelb.edu.au Kate Darian-Smith
The Institute of Literary Research of the Polish Academy of Sciences Institute of Literary Research https://ibl.waw.pl/en/start sekretariat@ibl.waw.pl Prof. Grzegorz Marzec
The Memory Group University of Warwick https://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/cross_fac/ehrc/events/memory// Mark.Philp@warwick.ac.uk Mark Philp
The Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education Chapman University https://www.chapman.edu/research-and-institutions/holocaust-education/rodgers-center/index.aspx harran@chapman.edu Marilyn Harran
The University of Duhok hussam.mohammed@uod.ac Hussam Mohammed
TraMe (Centre for the Semiotic Studies of Memory) University of Bologna https://centri.unibo.it/trame/en unibo.trame@unibo.it;francesco.mazzucchelli@unibo.it; Dr. Francesco Mazzucchelli and Martina Grinello
TRANSCULTURAL AND MEMORY STUDIES MASTER PROGRAM, FLASH, IBN ZOHR UNIVERSITY, AGADIR – MOROCCO Faculty of Languages, Arts, and Humanities
Ibn Zohr University
Agadir – Morocco
h.oudadene@uiz.ac.ma
GRENS: nations, states and sovereignties Research group Universitat Pompeu Fabra gerard.llorens@upf.edu Gerard Llorens DeCesaris
University of Exeter Center for Palestine Studies ks732@exeter.ac.uk Kristine Sheets
Uses of the Past Aarhus University https://usesofthepast.au.dk/ romhlh@cc.au.dk; wk@cas.au.dkw Hans Lauge Hansen
Utrecht Forum for Memory Studies Utrecht University, Netherlands www.utrechtmemorystudies.nl a.rigney@uu.nl; S.C.Knittel@uu.nl Ann Rigney; Susanne Knittel
Memory Studies Association mnorandi@yahoo.com  Mariana Norandi
School of Information and Library Science
Luddy School of Informatics, Computer Science, and Engineering
Indiana University
Allan A. Martell allmarte@iu.edu
Michigan Technological University’s Industrial Heritage MS and PhD program (teaching and research) marhodes@mtu.edu Mark Alan Rhodes
Memory and Trauma Working Group Graduate Programme Human Rights and Societal Justice at Thompson Rivers University wbell@tru.ca; astjohn@tru.ca Wilson Bell and Annie St.John Stark
CSIC – Memory Studies Cluster Spanish National Research Council f.ferrandiz@csic.es; alejandro.baer@csic.es Francisco Ferrándiz; Alejandro Baer
Center for Historical Research Federal University Dutsin-Ma, Nigeria okanschibue@yahoo.com Chixueze Okans Afor
Laboratory of Oral History and Image Universidade Federal Fluminense, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil labhoi.uff.br apcostajunior@id.uff.br Ademas Pereira da Costa Junior