CENTERS AND

PROJECTS

CENTERS AND PROJECTS 2017-12-16T08:08:05+00:00

One of the central purposes of the Memory Studies Association is to facilitate exchange between everyone interested in the field. With this in mind, we list here Centers, Institutes and Networks engaged in the study of memory – as well as other useful online resources. Please inform us of any websites you would like us to add here: info@memorystudiesassociation.org

Memory Centers
Name University Homepage Contact Email
Center for Memory and Testimony Studies Wilfred Laurier University, Canada http://cmtstudies.netfirms.com/demo/cmts/ Marta Marín-Dòmine mmarin@wlu.ca
Institute for Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies University of Massachusetts, Amherst https://www.umass.edu/ihgms/ ihgms@acad.umass.edu
Center for the Study of History and Memory University of Indiana, Bloomington http://www.indiana.edu/~cshm/index.html John Bodnar bodnar@indiana.edu
Centre for Studies in Memory and Literature University of Iceland http://memory.hi.is/ Gunnþórunn Guðmundsdóttir gunnth@hi.is
The Center for the Study of War and Memory University of South Alabama http://www.southalabama.edu/departments/research/warandmemory/ Steven Trout strout@southalabama.edu
Susan McCready smccread@southalabama.edu
Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies University of Illinois, Champagne-Urbana http://www.jewishculture.illinois.edu/programs/holocaust/ Brett Kaplan bakaplan@illinois.edu
Centre for the Study of Cultural Memory School of Advanced Study, University of London https://modernlanguages.sas.ac.uk/research-centres/centre-study-cultural-memory Katia Pizzi katia.pizzi@sas.ac.uk
Institute of Culture and Memory Studies Research Centre of the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts http://ikss.zrc-sazu.si/en#v Tanja Petrović tanja.petrovic@zrc-sazu.si 
Memory Studies Institute Lewis and Clark College https://sites.google.com/a/lclark.edu/mreyes/home/memory-studies-institute
Memory Studies Research Cluster University of Nottingham http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/research/groups/memory-studies-and-the-politics-of-memory/index.aspx Ute Hirsekorn ute.hirsekorn@nottingham.ac.uk
Lund Memory Studies Lund University https://lundmemorystudies.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/lund-memory-studies/ Barbara Törnquist-Plewa Barbara.Tornquist-Plewa@slav.lu.se
Frankfurt Memory Studies Platform Goethe University http://www.memorystudies-frankfurt.com/about/ Astrid Erll erll@em.uni-frankfurt.de
Konstanz Geschichte und Gedachtnis University of Konstanz https://cms.uni-konstanz.de/geschichteundgedaechtnis/geschichte-und-gedaechtnis-startseite/ Aleida Assmann Aleida.Assmann@uni-konstanz.de
Cultural Memory Studies Initiative Ghent Univesity www.cmsi.ugent.be Stef Craps stef.craps@ugent.be
Irish Memory Studies Network Dublin University http://irishmemorystudies.com/ Emilie Pine emilie.pine@ucd.ie
Network in Transnational Memory Studies Utrecht University http://nitmes.wp.hum.uu.nl/ Ann Rigney Ann Rigney Ann.Rigney@let.uu.nl
akaKurdistan ? http://www.akakurdistan.com/
Center for Ethnographic Research and Exhibition in the Aftermath of Violence University of Montreal http://cerev.org/cerev/contact cerev@concordia.ca
Center for the Study of the American South University of South Carolina http://south.unc.edu csas@unc.edu
Collected Visions http://cvisions.cat.nyu.edu/mantle/info.html cvisions@cat.nyu.edu
Danish Centre for the Study for Cultural Memory Studies http://memory.au.dk/ memory@au.dk
HISTORICAL DIALOGUES, JUSTICE, AND MEMORY NETWORK Columbia University http://historicaldialogues.org/ dialogues@columbia.edu.
Holocaust Research Institute London University, Royal Holloway https://pure.royalholloway.ac.uk/portal/en/organisations/holocaust-research-centre%281fbd5b1b-effc-43e3-aa41-afab77a3408a%29.html  Dan Stone D.Stone@rhul.ac.uk
King’s College Memory Group King’s College https://kclmemorygroup.wordpress.com/
Landless Voices University of Nottingham http://www.landless-voices.org/about.php?ng=e vozes-sem-terra@qmul.ac.uk
Luce Program in Individual and Collective Memory Washington University https://pages.wustl.edu/pboyer/luce-program-individual-collective-memory Pascal Boyer pboyer@wustl.edu
Memory at War. Cultural Dynamics in Poland, Russia and Ukraine Cambridge University http://www.memoryatwar.org/ info@memoryatwar.org
Militärgeschichtliches Forschungsamt http://www.mgfa-potsdam.de/html/institut_2005.php Dr. Helmut Hammerich MGFAPresseEingang@Bundeswehr.org
Memory Studies The New School for Social Research http://www.newschool.edu/nssr/centers-special-programs/?id=104451 Jonathan Bach bachj@newschool.edu
Oral History Society University of London, Holloway http://www.ohs.org.uk/about/  Anne Gulland annecgulland@yahoo.co.uk
The Raphael Samuel History Society London http://www.raphael-samuel.org.uk/ Kathy Pettit k.pettit@uel.ac.uk
Centre for Research in Memory, Narrative and Histories University of Brighton http://arts.brighton.ac.uk/research/centre-for-research-in-memory-narrative-and-histories Ken Young k.young2@brighton.ac.uk
The Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education Chapman University https://www.chapman.edu/research-and-institutions/holocaust-education/rodgers-center/index.aspx Marilyn Harran harran@chapman.edu
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media George Mason University https://rrchnm.org/our-story/contact-us/ chnm@gmu.edu
TAPAS/Thinking about the Past Ghent Univesity http://www.tapas.ugent.be/  Tessa Boeykens Tessa.Boeykens@ugent.be
Centro di studi interdisciplinari su memorie e traumi culturali University of Bologna http://www.dfc.unibo.it/it/ricerca/centri-di-ricerca/trame/ filcom.dipartimento@pec.unibo.it
The Association for the Study of Sociology of Memory and Culture BEKS Mimar Sinan University of Fine Arts, Sociology Department (Turkey)  https://beks.org/biz-kimiz/ Derya Fırat deryafirat@hotmail.com
The History and Memory research hub The University of Melbourne (Australia) http://arts.unimelb.edu.au/shaps/research/groups/history Kate Darian-Smith  k.darian-smith@unimelb.edu.au
IHTP Institut d’Histoire du Temps Présent CNRS / Paris Saint Denis University (France) http://www.ihtp.cnrs.fr Pascal Maytraud pascal.maytraud@ihtp.cnrs.fr
ISP CNRS/Paris Nanterre University / ENS Paris Saclay (France) http://www.isp.cnrs.fr Sarah Gensburger sgensburger@yahoo.fr
Labex Past in Present Paris Nanterre University (France) http://passes-present.eu Ghislaine Glasson Deschaumes gglasson-des@u-paris10.fr
Telemme Aix Marseille University http://telemme.mmsh.univ-aix.fr Maryline Crivello marylinecrivello@gmail.com
CELAT Laval University (Quebec-Canada) http://www.celat.ulaval.ca/centre/membres/jocelyn-letourneau/
Núcleo de Estudios sobre Memoria / IDES / CONICET Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (Argentina) http://memoria.ides.org.ar Claudia Feld clavife@yahoo.com.ar
El Espacio Memoria y Derechos Humanos (Ex-ESMA)  http://www.espaciomemoria.ar/
IC-MEMO (International Committee of Memorial Museums) http://icom.museum/the-committees/international-committees/international-committee/international-committee-of-memorial-museums-in-remembrance-of-the-victims-of-public-crimes/
Comisión Provincial por la Memoria de la Provincia de Buenos Aires http://www.comisionporlamemoria.org/
Mnemonics: Network for Memory Studies Universiteit Gent http://www.mnemonics.ugent.be/ Stef Craps Stef.Craps@UGent.be
Contemporary Memory Politics in Spain in Comparative Perspective Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) http://www.politicasdelamemoria.org/en/ Francisco Ferrándiz paco.ferrandiz@cchs.csic.es
Genealogies of Memory European Network Remembrance and Solidarity http://genealogies.enrs.eu Jagna Jaworowska genealogies@enrs.eu
Cultural Memories Research Group University of St.Andrews http://culturalmemory.wp.st-andrews.ac.uk Catherine O’Leary cmo4@st-andrews.ac.uk
Asociación Memorias en Red Independent http://www.memoriasenred.es memoriasenred.giji@gmail.com
SELMA: Centre for the Study of Storytelling, Experientiality and Memory University of Turku, Finland https://selmacentre.wordpress.com/ Hanna Meretoja hanna.meretoja@utu.fi
Narrative and Memory: Ethics, Aesthetics, Politics Nordic Summer University https://narrativeandmemory.com// Eneken Laanes and Hanna Meretoja eneken.laanes@tlu.ee
The Memory Group University of Warwick https://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/cross_fac/ehrc/events/memory// Mark Philp Mark.Philp@warwick.ac.uk
Holocaust Studies Haifa University http://holocaust-studies3.haifa.ac.il// Lea David lead@post.bgu.ac.il
Digital Memories University of Leuven http://www.digitalmemories.be// Silvana Mandolessi silvana.mandolessi@kuleuven.be
Media, Memory and History Research Cluster Loughborough University http://www.lboro.ac.uk/research/crcc/research-themes/memoryhistory/ / Emily Keightley E.Keightley@lboro.ac.uk
Memory Studies Portal Columbia University http://www.humanrightscolumbia.org/memory-studies/memory-studies-portal / memorystudiesportal@columbia.edu
Center for Comparative Conflict Studies (CFCCS) Faculty of Media and Communications (FMK), Belgrade, Serbia http://cfccs.org/ / Orli Fridman orli.fridman@fmk.edu.rs
Utrecht Forum for Memory Studies Utrecht University http://cfccs.org/ /