MSA First Book Award 2023

We are happy to announce the 10 shortlisted books for the 2023 MSA First Book Award!

The competition this year is very strong! Thirty great monographs were nominated to the Award. The winner will be announced by the end of March 2023. The presentation of the best first book in memory studies published in 2021 and 2022 will be part of the program at the MSA Conference in Newcastle in July this year.

Izabella Agárdi, On the Verge of History: The Life Stories of Rural Women in Serbia, Romania, and Hungary, 1920-2020. English, 2022, Ibidem, 978-3-8382-1602-7, pp. 366.

Lene  Faust, Neofaschismus in Italien. Politik, Familie und Religion in Rom. Eine Ethnographie. German, 2021, Transcript, 978-3-8376-5470-7, pp. 366.

Meghan Tinsley, Commemorating Muslims in the First World War Centenary: Making Melancholia. English, 2022, Routledge, 978-0-367-55185-8, pp. 193.

Mia Martin Hobbs, Return to Vietnam: An Oral History of American and Australian Veterans’ Journeys. English, 2021, Cambridge University Press, 978-1108832663, pp. 300.

Itay Lotem, The Memory of Colonialism in Britain and France: The Sins of Silence. English, 2021, Palgrave Macmillan, 978-3-030-63719-4, pp. 410.

Daniel Palacios, De fosas comunes a lugares de memoria. La práctica monumental como escritura de la historia. Spanish 2022, Centro de Estudios Políticos y Constitucionales,  978-84-259-1959-6, pp. 389.

Magda Schmukalla, Communist Ghosts. Post-communist Thresholds, Critical Aesthetics and the Undoing of Modern Europe. English, 2021, Palgrave Macmillan, 978-3-030-83730-3, pp. 232.

Hanna Teichler, Carnivalizing Reconciliation: Contemporary Australian and Canadian Literature and Film beyond the Victim Paradigm. English, 2021, Berghahn Books, 978-1-80073-172-1, pp. 274.

Thomas Van De Putte, Contemporary Auschwitz/Oświęcim. An Interactional, Synchronic Approach to Collective Memory. English, 2021, Routledge, 978-0-367-69728-0, pp. 128.

Yechiel Weizman, Unsettled Heritage. Living next to Poland’s Material Jewish Traces after the Holocaust. English 2022, Cornell University Press, 978-1501761744, pp. 289.

The Jury:

Alejandro Baer (University of Minnesota)
Dagmar Brunow (Linnaeus University, Vaxjö)
Susanne Buckley-Zistel (Marburg University)
Chiara de Caesari (University of Amsterdam)
Piotr Filipkowski (Polish Academy of Sciences)
Sara Jones (University of Birmingham)
Claudia Jünke (Innsbruck University)
Jessica Ortner (University of Copenhagen)
Martina Piperno (Durham University)
Magdalena Saryusz-Wolska (German Historical Institute Warsaw, MSA EC member)
Jarula M.I. Wegner (Zhejiang University)