MSA First Book Award 2023

Jury Is Out!

The MSA is happy and honoured to announce that the jury for the MSA First Book Award 2023 is finalised! The following colleagues have agreed to read and assess the highly promising submissions that we received this year:
  • Alejandro Baer (University of Minnesota)
  • Dagmar Brunow (Linnaeus University, Vaxjö)
  • Susanne Buckley-Zistel (Marburg University)
  • Chiara de Caesari (University of Amsterdam)
  • Piotr Filipkowski (Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Sara Jones (University of Birmingham)
  • Claudia Jünke (Innsbruck University)
  • Jessica Ortner (University of Copenhagen)
  • Martina Piperno (Durham University)
  • Magdalena Saryusz-Wolska (German Historical Institute Warsaw, Member of the MSA Executive Committee & First Book Award Coordinator)
  • Jarula M.I. Wegner (Zhejiang University)
This jury will check if submissions are the authors’ first books and were published in 2021 or 2022, and they will decide on a shortlist to be announced in the first months of 2023. Thank you all for your hard work!
You can read more about the Award here, and about past editions here.