Call for Submissions

Zumkehr Prize

Deadline: 11:59 p.m. (EDT) on March 15.

The Charles E. Zumkehr Professorship at Ohio University is pleased to announce the fifth annual Zumkehr Prize in Public Memory Scholarship. The $2000 prize will be awarded to the author(s) of the best invited or refereed journal article on public memory with a 2023 publication date (print or online). Book chapters are not eligible for this award.

Nominations, including self-nominations, must be submitted to Roger C. Aden, Charles E. Zumkehr Professor of Speech Communication, at by 11:59 p.m. (EDT) on March 15. Nominations need only include a PDF file of the article; the file should clearly demonstrate that the article met the date of publication requirements. Nomination letters or letters of support should not be included.

All nominations will be reviewed by a three-member international and interdisciplinary jury of distinguished scholars in public memory. This jury will evaluate all nominations by considering the extent to which the article: insightfully examines a vital question in public memory studies; thoughtfully engages the theoretical, critical, political or historical scholarship relevant to the question; generates possibilities for additional inquiry into other questions of public memory; and expresses ideas in a manner accessible to scholars in more than one academic discipline.

This year, I would like to make public the list of nominated articles to further highlight the breadth and depth of public memory scholarship. Entrants should indicate, at the time of their entry, whether they would like to be excluded from this public list.

The recipient of the prize will be invited to Ohio University, at the institution’s expense, to present a public lecture about their article during the following academic year.

The winner of the prize will be announced on May 15, 2024.