Zumkehr Prize in Public Memory Scholarship

Deadline: March 15, 2021

The Charles E. Zumkehr Professorship at Ohio University is pleased to announce the second annual Zumkehr Prize in Public Memory Scholarship. The $2000 prize will be awarded to the author(s) of the best invited or refereed journal article on public memory with a 2020 publication date (print or online) or a 2019 online publication date (in recognition of the fact that these publications were not eligible for last year’s prize). Book chapters are not eligible for this award.

Nominations, including self-nominations, must be submitted to Roger C. Aden, Charles E. Zumkehr Professor of Speech Communication, at aden@ohio.edu by 11:59 p.m. (EDT) on March 15. Nominations need only include a PDF file of the article; the file should clearly demonstrate that the article met the date of publication requirements. Nomination letters or letters of support should not be included.

All nominations will be reviewed by a three-member international and interdisciplinary jury of distinguished scholars in public memory. This jury will evaluate all nominations by considering the extent to which the article: insightfully examines a vital question in public memory studies; thoughtfully engages the theoretical, critical, political or historical scholarship relevant to the question; generates possibilities for additional inquiry into other questions of public memory; and, expresses ideas in a manner accessible to scholars in more than one academic discipline.

The recipient of the prize will be invited to Ohio University, at the institution’s expense, to present a public lecture about their article during the following academic year.

The winner of the prize will be announced on May 15, 2021.

Read more about this prize here.