Fourth Annual Zumkehr Prize in Public Memory Scholarship

Nominations deadline: March 15 by 11:59 p.m (EDT)

The Charles E. Zumkehr Professorship at Ohio University is pleased to announce the fourth annual Zumkehr Prize in Public Memory Scholarship. The $2000 prize will be awarded to the author(s) of the best invited or refereed journal article on public memory with a 2022 publication date (print or online). Book chapters are not eligible for this award.

Nominations, including self-nominations, must be submitted to Roger C. Aden, Charles E. Zumkehr Professor of Speech Communication, at by 11:59 p.m. (EDT) on March 15. Nominations need only include a PDF file of the article; the file should clearly demonstrate that the article met the date of publication requirements. Nomination letters or letters of support should not be included.

All nominations will be reviewed by a three-member international and interdisciplinary jury of distinguished scholars in public memory. This jury will evaluate all nominations by considering the extent to which the article: insightfully examines a vital question in public memory studies; thoughtfully engages the theoretical, critical, political or historical scholarship relevant to the question; generates possibilities for additional inquiry into other questions of public memory; and expresses ideas in a manner accessible to scholars in more than one academic discipline.

The recipient of the prize will be invited to Ohio University, at the institution’s expense, to present a public lecture about their article during the following academic year.

The winner of the prize will be announced on May 15, 2023.